NORTHERN TERRITORY OF AUSTRALIA

Regulations 1988, No. 25

By-laws under the *University College of the*Northern Territory Act

The Council of the University College of the Northern Territory, in pursuance of section 43 of the *University College of the Northern Territory Act* and the approval of the Council at a meeting held on 8 December, 1987, hereby makes the following By-laws.

UNIVERSITY COLLEGE OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

BY-LAW GOVERNING THE ACADEMIC BOARD

1. THE BOARD

There shall be a Board to be called the Academic Board, referred to in this by-law as "the Board".

2. MEMBERSHIP OF THE BOARD

- (1) The Board shall consist of:
- (a) the following persons who shall be members ex officio:
 - (i) the Warden
 - (ii) the Deans
 - (iii) the College Librarian
 - (iv) the President of the Students' Union
- (b) the following elected members:
 - (i) five members elected by and from the full-time academic staff of the Faculty of Arts with the status of lecturer or above;

 $[\]mbox{\ensuremath{^{+}}}$ Notified in the Northern Territory Government Gazette on 11 MAY 1988

University College of the Northern Territory

By-law Governing the Academic Board

- (ii) five members elected by and from the full-time Academic staff of the Faculty of Science with the status of lecturer or above;
- (iii) a candidate enrolled for a higher degree elected by the candidates enrolled for a Masters Degree or Doctoral Degree.
- (c) a member of Council appointed by the Council.

3. PERIOD OF OFFICE OF ELECTED MEMBERS

- (1) The members to be elected from the Faculty of Arts and the Faculty of Science shall be elected for two years except that in the first election two members receiving the highest votes shall serve for two years and the three members receiving the next highest votes shall serve for one year; after which there shall be three members and two members elected in alternate years.
- (2) The post-graduate student member shall serve for one year but shall be eligible for re-election.

4. ELECTIONS

Subject to this by-law an election for each class of members shall be conducted annually by the Registrar in such manner as the Registrar shall determine.

5. CASUAL VACANCIES

If for any cause other than the expiry of the term of office a vacancy occurs an election shall take place to fill the vacancy. A member so elected shall serve for the balance of the term of the member whose position became vacant.

6. QUORUM

A quorum shall consist of not less than one half of the total members of the Board.

7. PRESIDENT

(1) The Board shall elect from amongst its members a President and a Vice-President who shall each be elected for one year. The President shall be eligible for re-election for no more than two additional years.

University College of the Northern Territory

By-law Governing the Academic Board

- (2) The President shall chair meetings of the Board when present. In the absence of the President the Vice-President shall chair the meeting. In the absence of both the President and the Vice-President the members present shall elect one of their number to chair the meeting.
- (3) The person chairing the meeting shall have a vote and in the case of an equality of votes a second or casting vote.

8. SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

The Registrar shall be the Secretary of the Board in a non-voting capacity.

9. FUNCTIONS OF THE BOARD

Subject to the supreme control of the University College Council and to any by-laws made thereunder, the powers and duties of the Academic Board shall be:

to consider and make recommendations to either Council or the Warden, as is appropriate to the circumstances on:

- (a) the teaching and research activities of the University College;
- (b) any matter referred to it by the Council or by the Warden;
- (c) proposals for the introduction of new subjects and new courses;
- (d) the conditions governing the award of scholarships and prizes;
- (e) student discipline;
- (f) proposals for or amendments to by-laws;
- (g) conditions for entry to the College or to particular courses;
- (h) any matter concerned with the academic functions of the University College introduced by a member.

10. COMMITTEES OF THE BOARD

(a) There shall be a Library Committee and a Research Committee whose members shall be elected at the first meeting of the Board in each calendar year.

University College of the Northern Territory By-law Governing the Academic Board

(b) The Board may appoint ad hoc committees to consider particular matters.

11. LIBRARY COMMITTEE

- (a) Membership: The Library Committee shall consist of:
 - (i) the College Librarian, as Chairman, ex officio
 - (ii) the Deans, ex officio
 - (iii) one person from the Academic staff of the Faculty of Arts
 - (iv) one person from the Academic staff of the Faculty of Science $\$
 - (v) one person nominated by the College Librarian.
- (b) <u>Functions</u>: The powers, duties and function of the Library Committee shall be:

to consider and make recommendations to either the Academic Board or to the Warden, as is appropriate to the circumstances on:

- (i) Library policy and development
- (ii) the Library By-law
- (iii) Library services and amenities
 - (iv) the priority given by academic staff to the purchase of books and journals.

12. RESEARCH COMMITTEE

- (a) Membership: The Research Committee shall consist of:
 - (i) The Deans, ex officio
 - (ii) two persons from the Academic staff of the Faculty of Arts;
 - (iii) two persons from the Academic staff of the Faculty of Science;
 - (iv) a candidate enrolled for a Masters Degree or a Doctoral Degree.
- (b) Chairman: The Research Committee shall elect its Chairman from amongst its members.

University College of the Northern Territory

By-law Governing the Academic Board

(c) <u>Functions</u>: The powers, duties and functions of the Research Committee shall be:

to consider and make recommendations to either the Academic Board or to the Warden, as is appropriate to the circumstances on:

- (i) research policy;
- (ii) the encouragement and maintenance of research within the University College.

The Common Seal of the University College of the Northern Territory was affixed hereto on the eighth day of February 1988, in pursuance of a resolution of the Council authorising the Common Seal to be so affixed, passed on the eighth day of December 1987.

BRIAN	HUGHES
Regist	rar