Serial 26 Petroleum (Submerged Lands) Amendment Bill 2005 Mr Vatskalis

A BILL for AN ACT

to amend the Petroleum (Submerged Lands) Act

NORTHERN TERRITORY OF AUSTRALIA

PETROLEUM (SUBMERGED LANDS) AMENDMENT ACT 2005

Act No. [] of 2005

TABLE OF PROVISIONS

Section

- 1. Short title
- 2. Commencement
- 3. Principal Act amended
- 4. Repeal and substitution of Part 1, Division 2 heading Division 2 – Administration of Principal Northern Territory PSL Area
- 5. Amendment of section 10 (Definitions)
- 6. Amendment of section 13 (Minister as Designated Authority)
- 7. Amendment of section 14 (Delegations under Commonwealth Act)
- 8. Amendment of section 15 (Public servants performing functions under Commonwealth Act)



Act No. [] of 2005

AN ACT

to amend the Petroleum (Submerged Lands) Act

[Assented to [] 2005] [Second reading [] 2005]

The Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory enacts as follows:

1. Short title

This Act may be cited as the *Petroleum (Submerged Lands) Amendment Act 2005*.

2. Commencement

This Act comes into operation on the day on which, but immediately after, item 1 of Schedule 1 to the *Greater Sunrise Unitisation Agreement Implementation Act 2004* (Cth) commences.

3. Principal Act amended

This Act amends the Petroleum (Submerged Lands) Act.

4. Repeal and substitution of Part 1, Division 2 heading

Part 1, Division 2, heading -

repeal, substitute

Division 2 – Administration of Principal Northern Territory PSL Area

5. Amendment of section 10 (Definitions)

Section 10 –

insert (in alphabetical order)

- "Eastern Greater Sunrise area" means the part of the Commonwealth adjacent area that is described in Schedule 8 to the Commonwealth Act under the heading that refers to the Eastern Greater Sunrise area;
- "Principal Northern Territory PSL area" means the part of the Commonwealth adjacent area that is comprised of all of that adjacent area apart from the Eastern Greater Sunrise area.

6. Amendment of section 13 (Minister as Designated Authority)

Section 13 -

omit

Commonwealth adjacent area

substitute

Principal Northern Territory PSL area

7. Amendment of section 14 (Delegations under Commonwealth Act)

Section 14 -

omit

Commonwealth adjacent area

substitute

Principal Northern Territory PSL area

8. Amendment of section 15 (Public servants performing functions under Commonwealth Act)

Section 15 -

omit

Commonwealth adjacent area

substitute

Principal Northern Territory PSL area