# NORTHERN TERRITORY OF AUSTRALIA

## **COURT SECURITY REGULATIONS**

As in force at 1 July 2008

# Table of provisions

1	Citation1
2	Prescribed courts and tribunals1
ENDNOTE	S

## NORTHERN TERRITORY OF AUSTRALIA

As in force at 1 July 2008

#### **COURT SECURITY REGULATIONS**

## Regulations under the Court Security Act

#### 1 Citation

These Regulations may be cited as the *Court Security Regulations*.

## 2 Prescribed courts and tribunals

- (1) For the purposes of paragraph (h) of the definition of *court* in section 4 of the Act, the following courts are prescribed:
  - (a) the Court of Appeal of the Northern Territory of Australia under section 51 of the Supreme Court Act;
  - (b) the Court of Criminal Appeal established by section 407 of the Criminal Code:
  - (c) the Court of Disputed Returns established by section 232 of the *Electoral Act*;
  - (d) the Family Matters Court established by section 24 of the Community Welfare Act;
  - (e) the Alcohol Court established by section 6 of the *Alcohol Court Act*.
- (2) For the purposes of paragraph (j) of the definition of *court* in section 4 of the Act, the following tribunals are prescribed:
  - (b) an Escort Agency Licensing Appeals Tribunal constituted under section 33(3) of the *Prostitution Regulation Act*;
  - (c) the Firearms Appeal Tribunal established by section 50 of the *Firearms Act*:
  - (d) the Land and Valuation Review Tribunal established by section 21 of the *Valuation of Land Act*:
  - (e) the Local Government Tribunal continued by Part 18.2 of the Local Government Act;

- (f) the Motor Accidents (Compensation) Appeal Tribunal established by section 28 of the *Motor Accidents* (Compensation) Act.
- (3) For the purposes of paragraph (j) of the definition of *court* in section 4 of the Act, a coroner or deputy coroner is, while conducting an inquest under the *Coroners Act*, prescribed.

#### **ENDNOTES**

## 1 KEY

Key to abbreviations

amd = amended od = order
app = appendix om = omitted
bl = by-law pt = Part

ch = Chapter r = regulation/rule
cl = clause rem = remainder
div = Division renum = renumbered

exp = expires/expired rep = repealed
f = forms s = section
Gaz = Gazette sch = Schedule
hdg = heading sdiv = Subdivision

ins = inserted SL = Subordinate Legislation

It = long title sub = substituted

nc = not commenced

#### 2 LIST OF LEGISLATION

## Court Security Regulations (SL No. 16, 1998)

Notified 1 July 1998 Commenced 1 July 1998

#### Electoral (Consequential Amendments) Act 2004 (Act No. 12, 2004)

Notified 1 March 2004

Commenced 15 March 2004 (s 2, s 2 *Electoral Act 2004* (Act No. 11, 2004)

and Gaz S6, 15 March 2004)

#### Antisocial Behaviour (Miscellaneous Amendments) Act 2006 (Act No. 2, 2006)

Assent date 8 March 2006

Commenced 14 June 2006 (Gaz G24, 14 June 2006, p 3)

#### Local Government (Consequential Amendments) Act (Act No. 28, 2008)

Assent date 19 November 2008 Commenced 1 July 2008 (s 2)

### 3 LIST OF AMENDMENTS

r 2 amd Act No. 12, 2004, s 7; Act No. 2, 2006, s 26; Act No. 28, 2008, s 4